Number 5 in Sikhism

 Number 5 in Sikhism

Sikhism – The Five K’s                              

The Khanda is a symbol of the Khalsa.

Sikhism was founded by Guru Nanak (1469 – 1539) in North India.Number 5 in Sikhism - Sikh Khanda

Sikhs believe the word of God has come through The Ten Gurus.

Before his death Guru Gobind Singh declared he was the final of the human Gurus.

After he died the authority passed on to the Guru Granth Sahib. Guru Granth Sahib is the name of the sacred scriptures.

Khalsa, which means pure, was instituted by the tenth Guru Gobind Singh. Khalsa is initiated by a ceremony.

Sikh men who are initiated in the Khalsa will wear the Five K’s as instructed by Guru Gohind Singh.

The Five K’s are also known as Amritdhari.

These five K’s were set down in 1699 by Guru Gobind Singh.



The wooden comb – symbolizes moral control and cleanliness


The steel bracelet worn on the right wrist – symbolizes strength and integrity


Ceremonial weapon – symbolizes courage, readiness to defend the weak.


Cotton shorts, much like boxer shorts – symbol of self-control.


Uncut hair – symbolizes saintliness. The long hair is covered by a turban.



The Five Virtues in Sikhism The Five Evils in Sikhism
Sat Truth Kam  Lust 
Daya  Compassion  Krodh Rage
Santokh  Contentment  Lobh  Greed 
Nimrata  Humility  Moh  Attachment 
Pyare  Love  Ahankar Ego 


Number 5 in Sikhism: The Five Beloved Ones

In 1699 Guru Gobind Singh (the Tenth Guru) was in Amandpur. Guru Gobind Singh addressed a huge crowd of thousands outside his tent.

He drew his sword and asked if anyone was willing to die for their faith. The third time he asked a man stepped forward.

He entered the tent with the Guru. Shortly after, the Guru Gobind Singh came out of the tent with a bloody sword.

He asked for another volunteer. Another man stepped forward and went into the Guru’s tent.

Again the Guru came out with a bloody sword and asked yet again for a volunteer. This procedure was repeated five times.

The crowd was shocked. The Guru Gohind Singh came out of the tent once more.

This time he was accompanied by the five men who were unharmed.

These five men who were willing to die for their faith became known as the Five Beloved Ones – The Panj Piare.

It was on this day the Guru took a bowl of water. Sahib Devan added it sugar crystals to the water.

She was given the name Mata Sahib Kaur and is respected as “The Mother of the Khalsa”.

The Guru mixed the water and sugar using his sword. This nectar is called Amrit. 

He recited the five Banis (Five Prayers).

The Five Beloved Ones were each given five handfuls of Amrit to drink.

The Guru then sprinkled the Amrit on their eyes five times.

They also received five sprinkles of the Amrit on their hair.

The Five K’s were initiated.

This was the first Sikh Baptism ceremony, The Khalsa. Khalsa means “pure”.

Any man who has been initiated to the Khalsa will that day be given the name Singh, which means Lion.

A woman will be given the name Kaur, which means Princess.

The Five Beloved Ones

1. Bhai Daya Singh

2. Bhai Mukham Singh

3. Bhai Sahib Singh

4. Bhai Dharam Singh

5. Bhai Himmat Singh


2 thoughts on “Number 5 in Sikhism”

  1. Sikhs are THE WARRIORS of India ..
    Distinguished service .. in the British Indian Army and in the Indian Army ..
    great businessmen, robust physique and what not ??

    @Meghana . you are right .. they are pride of India .. but what happened in the riots are unfortunate ..

  2. Sikhs are for sure,
    the pride of India .. they are not just proud and strong .. they are humble while serving, honest while working and they never beg .. never steal .. and choose death instead of disgrace ..

    Thanks for an insight into their religion ..


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.