Number 5

Meaning of Number 5

Five is the number of balance.

Five symbolizes man, health and love.number 5


It combines the female number two with the male number three. Five is the number of marriage.

The Pythagoreans thought of five as “hieros gamos”, the marriage between heaven and earth.

Human Being

5 the number of human beingFive is the number of the human being.

The number five symbolizes the four limbs and the head that controls the limbs.

There are five senses: sight – hearing – taste – smell – touch.

Astrology and Tarot

5 Hierophant Rider WaiteLeo is the fifth astrological sign in the Zodiac. (July 23 – August 23)

Number five is the number of Mercury.

Number five is lucky for Gemini and Virgo.

In the Tarot, five is the card for the Hierophant (the Pope).

The Hierophant symbolizes peace and harmony.

Reversed it indicates vulnerability.

In numerology there are five core numbers:

5 Core numbers
Life Path Number

Destiny Number

Soul Number

Personality Number

Maturity Number


high five“High Five” is a social gesture of celebrating.

There are five vowels in the English alphabet.

Pentasyllabic is a pentasyllabic, a word that has five syllables.

In science, Boron has the atomic number 5.

A limerick is a five-line poem, often humorous.

There are five arms on a regular starfish.

An earthworm has five hearts.

Basketball is played with five players on the team.

Five is the number of musicians playing in a quintet.

There are five parallel, horizontal lines in a staff (or some may say stave) which holds parts of music.

Olympic Rings

The Five Olympic Rings symbolize the five continents.

Blue ring Europe
Yellow ring Asia
Black ring Africa
Green ring Oceania
Red ring America

5 Olympic Rings




Coco Chanel – Lucky Number 5

Number five was the lucky number of Coco Chanel. The famous and highly successful perfume, Chanel No 5, was launched May 5, 1922.

“I always launch my collection on the 5th day of the 5th months, so the number 5 seems to bring me luck – therefore, I will name it No 5” – Coco Chanel

Anniversary A wood anniversary celebrates five years in the western culture.

Fifth President

James Monroe 5th PresidentJames Monroe was the fifth president of the United States. 1817 – 1825.

He is famous for the Monroe Doctrine stating that European colonization in America would not be tolerated and that the U.S. would not interfere in European affairs.

Monroe was a slave owner, but he believed in a diplomatic end to slavery. He supported the freed slaves’ colonization in Liberia.

Five states were admitted to the Union when James Monroe was President. 1. Mississippi – December 10, 1817 2. Illinois – December 3, 1818 3. Alabama – December 14, 1819 4. Maine – March 15, 1820 5. Missouri – August 10, 1821

The Hamsa Hand                

hamsa handThis amulet is very common in the Middle East. It is used by both Jews and Muslims.

The amulets are used as a magical protection against the evil eye. Hamsa means five. The amulet has no little finger, but two balanced thumbs, the eye in the palm protects against the evil eye.

The Jews will often call it “The Hand of Miriam”. Miriam was the sister of Moses and Aron. It may also represent the 5 books of the Torah.

The Muslims will often call it “The Hand of Fatima”. Fatima was the daughter of the profet Muhammad. It may also represent the 5 pillars of Islam.

The Hamsa Hand is often worn by peace activists in the Middle East, as it is a common symbol for both Jews and Muslims.

The Luther Rose

Luther RoseThere are five symbols in the Luther Rose. The Luther Rose or Luther Seal is a symbol for Lutheranism. It was designed for Martin Luther in 1530.


The cross – faith The heart – love The white rose peace The blue sky- heavenly joy The yellow circle – eternity


David was only equipped with five pebbles when he killed the giant Goliath. “Then he took  his staff in his hand, and chose five smooth stones from the brook, and put them in his shepherd’s bag or wallet; his sling was in his hand, and he drew near to the Philistine.” 1 Samuel 17:40.

 5 Great Lakes

There are Five Great Lakes on the border of Canada and the United States. The Five Great Lakes are: Lake Eirie – Lake Huron – Lake Michigan – Lake Ontario – Lake Superior.

King for Five Days

King John I was king of France for only five days. He was king from November 15, 1316 to November 20, 1316. He was an infant king. Many believed his uncle Philip was responsible for his death. His uncle became King Philip V. There were also rumors the infant king had been kidnapped and replaced with a dead baby.

Five Victims

“Jack the Ripper” murdered five women around the Whitechapel district of London in 1888. He was also known as “The Whitechapel Murderer” and “Leather Apron”.

Jack the Ripper Wanted posterThe murders were never solved and the identity of Jack the Ripper/Leather Apron remains unknown.

The five victims were: 1. Mary Ann Nichols 2. Anne Chapman 3. Elizabeth Stride 4. Catherine Eddowes 5. Mary Jane Kelly  

Guy Fawkes

Guy FawkesNovember 5, 1605: Guy Fawkes was involved in a plan to blow up the House of Parliament in London.

T he plot was hindered. November 5th is known as “Guy Fawkes Night” or “Bonfire Night”.

Effigies of Guy Fawkes are burned on bonfires in all parts of the U.K.      


Befana the Witch arrives on the 5th of January

In Italy Befana comes on the evening of the 5th of January, Epiphany Eve. She travels on a broomstick and delivers sweets or other gifts to all children who have behaved.

Children who have misbehaved will receive a black candy that represents a lump of coal. In Italy she is known as Befana la Strega (Befana the Witch) or Befana la Vecchia (Befana the Crone).

One legend tells a story involving the Wise Men and an old woman. On their quest to find the baby Jesus following the star, they asked an elderly woman for directions.

She could not give them any clarification on how to find the new born, but did invite them to spend the night in her home. The following morning the three Wise Men invited the woman to join them. She declined.

Later the old woman regretted her decision. She set out to find the baby Jesus bringing along a sack filled with gifts.

The old woman also took her broomstick as housekeeping was very important in her opinion.

To this day she is still rummaging around, but does stop to give gifts to children.

Befana certainly is a kindhearted witch!


  1. Episkopos Batwing Candlewaxxe KSC

    The Law of Fives of Discordianism: All things happen in fives, or are divisible by or multiples of five, or are somehow directly or indirectly appropriate to five.

    The more you seek it, the more you will find it.

  2. There are five wounds of Jesus Christ: the scourging at the pillar, the crowning with thorns, the wounds in the Messiah’s hands, the wounds in the feet of the Son of Man and the side would of the Savior.

    “He was wounded for our transgressions, crushed for our iniquities; by His wounds we are healed.” – Isaiah 53:5

  3. Very important in Judaism: Five is the number of books in the Torah. The Torah is the first five books of the Hebrew Bible (so, Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy).

  4. Five is also a beautiful number. A symbol of balance, marriage, man, health, love; a number which can charm anyone. I was thrilled to read about Befana, the witch. It makes us instill the truth value in mythology which is considered to fake at times. This article provides us with information that I have never come across and has thus, enlightened me.

Speak Your Mind